June 15, 2015

Notable Township Settlers

The Most Notable
I begin with ...
Dr. Conrad Sulzer 
grand-daddy of Lake View Township
images - Ravenswood-Lake View Community Collection
I would not have messed with him!
Physician Conrad Sulzer and his family of Winterthur, Z├╝rich, Switzerland who are respectfully regarded as the one of the first Euro-settlers arrivals in this undeveloped area located north of Chicago in by 1837 two years before the incorporation of Chicago as a city. This German speaking Swiss-born doctor purchased 100 acres of land at the southeast corner of Green Bay Road (Clark Street) and Jefferson Road (Lawrence Avenue). He contributed some of his land to Graceland Cemetery along Clark Street.
The Sulzer's 14 room, including a seven bedrooms, brick house is still located at 4223 North Greenview AvenueThe original address was 1306 Perry Avenue. The house exists today almost in its original condition and once later owned by actress Joan Cusak and Richard Burke. Dr. Sulzer established a greenhouse nursery and provided shrubs and plants for the Graceland Cemetery.  He served as one of the administrators of the township in its early years.
An Account in 1884
by Theodore Andreas, historian 
'The [one of] oldest living settler within the present limits of the town[ship] however if not actually the earliest in point of time is Frederick Sulzer who moved with his parents to what is now Ravenswood in 1837. His father Conrad settled upon the same land although not upon the same spot which the son now occupies. Mr Sulzer died in 1873 [while] Mrs Sulzer is still living with her son who is a florist by trade. 
Album of genealogy and biography
Cook County, Illinois 1897
segment 2
He purchased his property from the City of Chicago 
Mayor William Ogden in 1838
donated research by Kathy Sardina 
Honoring with a Monument in 1950

located at Graceland Cemetery 
It would appear that Conrad may have had a stake in one of the first breweries in Chicago - J. & W. Crawford's Chicago Brewery according to this link although the dates do not line up.
In His Memory: 
photo below - Garry Albrecht
A sample of the Ravenswood-Lake View Collection 
that is located at their mezzanine level
Owner of the 'Seven Mile House'
The narrative on Nicholas Kranz is a story about the beginnings of
Lake View Township. “[His] Seven Mile House has been reputed as a local tavern, inn, and meeting place; however, as Lois Kransz points out, it was never operated as an official business. The Kranszes provided food, drink, and lodging to travelers passing through the area (for a small fee), as was the custom in sparsely-populated areas. Many of these guests were funeral processions from Calvary Cemetery in Evanston. With Nicholas’s reputation for being in the right place at the right time, he was an obvious participant in local politics and civic affairs, and often provided his home as a meeting place for such activities. The story that Abraham Lincoln stopped at Seven Mile House during his 1860 campaign travels is probably true, according to Lois. Gatherings were often held in small communities to introduce politicians to local citizens. Lois heard many recollections of the event from her grandfather, Peter Kransz, who had been a child at the time. However, Lois says, "Peter was known to exaggerate and his stories became embellished with time." Lois believes a Lincoln campaign rally was actually held at the house, since it was a popular meeting ground (and Nicholas was then Justice of the Peace), but will admit to no further details of the event.”  
a 1887 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of the location of the establishment with a zoomed view below

 John W Turner
a businessman



His Family Homestead
 photos - Ravenswood-Lake View Community Collection

 the house survived until the late 1950's
the location per Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps 
1887
 pre 1909 address of 502 Addison Street
1894

1950
The Hidden History of Ravenswood & Lake View 
by Pat Butler
The Chicago Temple
Mr. Turner first residence must have been 
very near the original church on Washington & Clark
One of the founders of First Methodist Church of Ravenswood
currently called the 
Ravenswood Fellowship United Methodist Church
He had a Legal Issue 
about the Elevated Route in 1904
a 2018 Google View of the area
 concerning the Brownline
Elisha Este Huntley
Although Dr. Conrad Sulzer will always be known as the father of Lake View Township, owner of a florist nursery, donator of land to Graceland Cemetery and one of the townships first assessors he was not the only one who had a major impact to the growth of the township. Landowner Elisha Este Huntley along with his partner James Rees teamed up to establish a remote resort on a bluff along the existing lakefront called Lake View House (Hotel). (James Rees partnered earlier with another resident of the township, Charles Chase, owned the Rees and Chase – real estate business in Chicago by 1852 – later to be called The Chicago Tile and Trust Company.) These personal connections allowed Chicagoans who may have intial thought this township as too far or too rural to invest & settle  thought otherwise once they traveled to the hotel that overlooked the lakefront on a bluff far from the hussle and bussle of urban living. 
Sanborn Maps of his Properties   
from Grace to Addison/Evanston Ave. to lake

images - Historic Map Works
Halsted to Sheffield, Montrose to Irving Park Road
artist depiction from a window of the hotel
image - Newberry Library
The hotel-resort that began as a private residence
additions & renovations were added due to its popularity
photos - Ravenswood-Lake View Community Collection

According to legend the namesake of the Newberry Library, Walter Loomis Newberry, was taken in by the locations' cool breezes along with its uncumbered views 
of the lake from the bluff above
zoomed image of Pine Grove subdivision
University of Chicago 1869 map 
Upon Huntley’s death in 1879 he and his partner acquired land grants that totaled 225 acres, mostly along the lakefront.
Fourth of July Opening
at the Huntley House in 1854

next paragraph

smart phone images - Garry Albrecht
After Huntley’s death his vast land holdings were mismanaged by his son-in-law and his cousin Daniel Huntley. The Chicago Fire of 1871 added to confusion of land ownership – fire destroyed countless land deeds – Huntley’s son-in-law apparently deeded off the land to various trustees (land trusts) until City of Chicago intervened with litigation that ended the confusion in the late 1890’s. During this time period a roadway along the lakefront became a reality - Sheridan Road (initially called North-Lake Shore Drive).
The area of the Lake View Hotel as of 1898 along Sheridan Road
just north of Grace Street
photo - Ravenswood Lake View Community Collection
photo - Chicago Public Library 
via Explore Chicago Collection
 his 1906 death notice- Chicago Tribune
He owned a lot of property in Chicago as well
Album of Genealogy and Biography, Cook County, Illinois: with Portraits - 1896
Sanborn Fire Insurance Map 
history of his home
1887  
of his property near his home
 the general area in 1887 - X marks the spot of estate
with a zoomed view below
 1894 
a 1923
 1950
 indicating vacant land along Mildred Avenue
John A. Enander
First notable Swedish pioneer of the Township

images above - Illinois State Horticultural Society
According the publication Hidden History of Ravenswood & Lake View by Patrick Butler the first Swedish settler in the area of Lake View Township. 'He lived on 3200 block of Wilton Avenue [once called Oak Place]. He was poet, historian, orator, and educator - well known as a 'Lincoln' Republican of his day.' Upon his death he was appointed to the ambassador to Denmark but due to his sudden illness and death never took office.
 Edgar Sanders
Edgar Sanders was a horticulturist who opened Chicago's first permanent flower store in 1864. In 1857 Sanders moved to Chicago, building a fifty-foot greenhouse and organizing the Chicago Gardener's Club. He was Treasurer of the Lake View Township

He resided at the pre 1909 addess of 55 Oak Place 
- currently Wilton Avenue but not sure on the number conversion
X marks the spot for Oak Place 
in this 1887 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map
a 1900 article about him
Sanders died in 1907. He was remembered in The Florist's Exchange for his "rugged honesty," "unvarying amiability," and "complete unselfishness." The Illinois Horticultural Society called his life 
"a story of progressive achievement and kindly living 
in a world of the beautiful." 
The Spafford Family
founders of ...
 Missionaries of Old Lake View
1875 image - Library of Congress
The founders of the American Colony in Jerusalem were the couple named Horatio and Anna Spafford who in the 
mid 1860's resided in the nascent Township of Lake View. 
Horatio Spafford owned a successful law practice in the city of Chicago as well as owning several properties within the City of Chicago. Simply, there were regarded wealthy and influential in both the township and the Chicago. Horatio and Anna owned a cottage on a five acre triangular piece of property that border Evanston (Broadway)Avenue, Halsted Street, and Graceland Avenue (Irving Park Road). They were both quite active in the abolitionist movement during the Civil War with friends like Frances E. Willard, president of the National Women's Christian Temperance Union as well as evangelical leader Dwight L. Moody, founder of the Moody Church who had many a dinner at their home after the war.
The Safford’s lost if not all of their real estate deeds in the Great Chicago Fire of 1871 and suffered personal family tragedies that would later prompted them to live a missionary life with his family in Jerusalem in 1881 during the time of the Ottoman Empire. The empire while ruled by a sultan allowed local areas religious autonomy hence allowing the Safford's to live and work without prosecution. Their other contribution was a hymn called 
'It is Well with my Soul' - listen to their self composed melody while viewing a historical presentation of this couple with this link
1992 photo - Al Jazeera
In 1992 representatives from the Palestinian Liberation Organization and Israel met in their hotel for talks that led to the historic 1993 Oslo Peace Accord. 
The hotel was called the American Colony Hotel named after Christian utopian society known as the American Colony in 1881. Headquartered from that building, members of this American group along with Chicago Swedish Christians began to engage in philanthropic work among the people of Jerusalem regardless of their religious affiliation and without proselytizing faith thereby gaining the trust of the local Muslim, Jewish, and Christian communities. The society played a critical role by operating soup kitchens, hospitals, orphanages and other charitable ventures for any religious group or individual who needed assistance. 
images - Library of Congress
After the British captured Jerusalem from the Ottoman Turks in December 1917, this small communal colony became the conduit for funds for organizations such as the Syrian and Palestine Relief Fund and the Christian Herald Relief Fund in Jerusalem. Horatio died in 1888 and Annie in 1928 in their adopted Jerusalem but their society would flourish assisting anyone in need. The mission that began in the late 19th century continues today in Israel. The original building is currently a hotel in the eastern Jerusalem.
View other pictures/manuscripts of them and their organization 
from the Library of Congress.
The Chase Brothers:
Charles C. Chase
an abstract man
In 1870, Charles C. Chase joined Chase Brothers & Co. The fourth partner was George H. Bailey, and the office was located at 48 LaSalle Street. After the fire of 1871, in which the Cook County abstract records were destroyed, it was found that Chase Brothers & Co. and two other abstract firms (Shortall & Hoard and Jones & Seller) had each lost part of their indices, but together had a complete set, with some duplicates. The three firms therefore merged, and still later consolidated with Chicago Title and Trust. Immediately after the fire, Chase Brothers & Co. established its offices at 299 W. Washington Street. Horace maintained a separate loan business with John B. Adams as well.
516 (1846) W. Belmont Avenue
below is a 1887 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map that highlights both brothers' residents - X's mark the spot
(Lake View Avenue once intersected with Belmont Avenue)

below 1894 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map
In 1852, his brother Horace followed his brothers Samuel B. and Charles C. to Chicago, where he became employed by real estate dealer James H. Rees, who with Edward Rucker originated the land abstract system in Chicago. In 1855, Horace and Samuel Chase joined fortunes with James Rees to form Rees, Chase & Co. Eventually, Mr. Rees was bought out, and the firm became Chase Brothers & Co. Samuel brother Charles joined the company in 1870. After the fire of 1871, in which the Cook County abstract records were destroyed, it was found that Chase Brothers & Co. and two other abstract firms (Shortall & Hoard and Jones & Seller) had each lost part of their indices, but together had a complete set, with some duplicates. The three firms therefore merged, and still later consolidated with Chicago Title and Trust. Immediately after the fire, Chase Brothers & Company established an office at 299 W. Washington Street. Horace maintained a separate loan business. 
image - Chicago Title & Insurance Company
In 1855, Horace and Samuel Chase joined fortunes with James Rees to form Rees, Chase & Co. Eventually, Mr. Rees was bought out, and the firm became Chase Brothers & Company.
Mr. Rees join in a partnership with Elisha Huntley who owned property from Community of Pine Grove and establish the Lake View House/Hotel in 1854 in which the Township of Lake View was named in 1857 by Conrad Sulzer & friends in Andersonville.
... and his other brother
Samuel B. Chase
another abstract man
image - Chicago Title & Insurance Company 
Samuel residence was down the street on Belmont a 
'stone throw away' for the existing lakefront and his brother
Below 1894 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map
the evolution of his corner estate in 1912
 an article about ...


the evolution of the property continued in 1964 ...
Charles M. Netterstrom
a businessman

Their home is still part 
of the neighborhood landscape
833 W Aldine Avenue
1887
 1887 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Lot 14 
1894
1923
a zoomed view of 833 Aldine Avenue below 
on the corner of Aldine and Craft (Dayton)

'With Italianate and Queen Anne influences, the home with its front gable, bay window, and tall corner tower is remarkably well-preserved inside. The original finishes include a grand curving walnut, pine staircase, carved marble mantels, and fine plaster work.' - text - theamericanhome via Instragram
2018 Google Map
the granddaddy of Buena Park
A Community within Lake View Township
a 1887 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map with edits
In 1860, James Waller hired architect Joseph Lyman Silsbee, to build a house occupying a portion of Waller’s apparent 53 acres of then existing lakefront property. The existing lakefront was just immediate east of Halsted Street, at the time. The Waller house caught the attention of many, including one Eugene Field living at the corner of Clarendon and Hutchinson. Eugene Field was one of Chicago's prophetically proclaimed humorists and popular children’s poets, who made a poem titled "The Ballad of Waller Lot." 
J.B. influenced township/city politics for years particularly the northward park expansion of Lincoln Park and Sheridan Road. 
Buena Park is currently a neighborhood in the Community of Uptown but prior to 1889 was part of the Township/City of Lake View much like Andersonville and Ravenswood were at the time.
George W Snow
an investor of real estate
and civil engineer
image - Geni
'George Washington Snow invented the building construction method known as 'balloon framing'. Among the early settlers of Chicago, George W. Snow left his native New Hampshire to live for some periods in New York and Detroit, before heading for Chicago. Snow reached the mouth of the Chicago River on July 12, 1832. It had only 250 inhabitants at that point. Educated as a civil engineer, he was a lumber dealer, building contractor, financier, and real estate operator.'
a narrative by the Lake View Saga ...
Note: Mr. Snow's investment of $400,000
 would be well over 10 million in current dollars
William Boldenweck 
served as the only mayor of the 
City of Lake View 1887-89
Mrs. Tillie Lindstrom 
Just one those many settlers ...
article published in 1944
A Place to Gather for the Settlers
'Harms Park was a privately-owned picnic grove formerly located at the northeast corner of Western and Berteau Avenues in what is now the Community of North Central. It became a park in 1893, lasting until 1946, when the land was re-developed for private housing. Many events and festivals were held in Harms Park, most notably the Chicago Old Settlers’ Picnic, which celebrated Chicago’s oldest citizens. The year 1937 marked Chicago’s hundreth year, and the Chicago Charter Jubilee held various celebrations and events, among them this picnic, which was held annually until 1946.2 The Charter Jubilee was also responsible for the placement of many historical plaques in various places throughout the city.'

No Post Notes
incomplete list of the first settlers from Europe can be found
 in a 1884 publication authored by a  
local historian of the named Alfred T. Andreas

Please follow me to my next post called

Important Note:
These posts are exclusively used for educational purposes. I do not wish to gain monetary profit from this blog nor should anyone else without permission for the original source - thanks!